top of page

romans historiques

Mon grand-père

Roman d'Alan Alfredo Geday 
Extrait (Partie I)

En cette fin d’après-midi, sur les trottoirs de Bensonhurst, règne une douce odeur de marinaraLes épiceries italiennes ne désemplissent jamais, et les boîtes de tomates s’empilent à l’infini dans les vitrines comme une œuvre d’Andy Warhol. C’est ce qui se vend le mieux à Bensonhurst ! Sans compter l’huile d’olive et les gousses d’ail ! Bensonhurst n’est plus seulement le quartier des Napolitains et des Siciliens, mais rassemble des immigrés de toute la botte italienne depuis la fin de la guerre. Des drapeaux tricolores flottent aux façades des immeubles et définissent les limites de la « Petite Italie de Brooklyn ». Le quartier est haut en couleur : des promotions géantes, des affiches des derniers blockbusters, des disquaires bondés, des étals en tous sens, des terrasses surpeuplées où l’on joue à la scopa, des vitrines de jouets et des distributeurs de chewing-gums qui attirent les enfants à la sortie de l’école. Mais aussi les voitures qui vrombissent, les taxis jaunes qui klaxonnent, les motos qui pétaradent, et le métro qui file au-dessus des routes encombrées. C’est l’heure de pointe, et les habitants de Bensonhurst arpentent les rues pour leurs emplettes. Un bouquet de coriandre de-ci ! Quelques aubergines séchées de-là ! L’heure du dîner approche, mais on discute encore sur le perron des immeubles en briques rouges. On s’arrête aussi dans les delicatessen juifs pour un krantz, une brioche couverte d’une pâte de chocolat, un challah en tresse d’escargot, ou des beignets fourrés. Car au milieu de l’Italie new-yorkaise, une petite diaspora juive a subsisté. 

Mon Grand PĂ©re_French_frnt.jpg

Commander

Broché: 276 pages

Prix: 15,50 €

Kindle: 9,50 €

Date de publication : 2023

Capture d'Ă©cran 2023-08-26 061241.png

Il était une fois Wanda

Roman d'Alan Alfredo Geday
Extrai
t (Partie I)

Wanda regarde sa bague de fiançailles. Elle observe les éclats de diamant se réfléchir sur la fenêtre du train. Elle est magnifique. Après Boris, c’est ce qu’elle détient de plus précieux. Elle a tout fait pour la sauver des révoltes bolchéviques. Le jour où ils avaient pillé leur appartement de Saint-Pétersbourg, elle avait glissé la bague d’Igor dans son corsage. Au moins, elle était certaine que les émeutiers ne l’emporteraient pas sans elle. Elle réfléchit. Ce train est son destin. Elle a l’impression d’avoir déjà vécu ce moment, comme un rêve qu’elle réalise. Ce paysage qui défile, elle l’a déjà vu. Cette langue française des voyageurs, elle l’a déjà entendue, et elle la parle et la comprend depuis ses années à Lausanne. Ce réconfort qu’elle espère trouver en France, elle l’a déjà ressenti. Comme si tout avait été écrit. Serait-ce le début d’une vie nouvelle ?

AG_OUTW_front.jpg

Commander

Broché: 142 pages

Prix: 12,50 €

Kindle: 7 €

Date de publication : 2021

Capture d'Ă©cran 2023-08-26 060407.png

La légende de Larry Hoover 

Roman d'Alan Alfredo Geday
Extrai
t (Partie III)

​Sous le pont de Brooklyn, c’est le lieu de l’interdit. C’est aussi le lieu où l’on discute de la fausse démocratie. Le lieu des complots, des menaces, des espoirs et des secrets. Le lieu des gens de rien qui veulent faire changer le cours des choses. Des gens en colère ou en perdition. Les réunions, on les fait en cachette, parfois même à la sauvette lorsque l’on entend une sirène qui approche. Les policiers font la ronde et embarquent quelquefois des ennemis de l’ordre social, ou tout du moins des noirs qui restent trop tard hors du ghetto et qui se rassemblent autour d’un baril. Personne ne sait ce qui s’est déroulé par le passé sous le pont de Brooklyn. Il y a bien des légendes et des rumeurs, mais seule l’East River connaît la vérité. C’est l’histoire des bas-fonds qui se chante dans le frémissement de l’eau.

Larry Hoover front cover.jpg

Commander

Broché: 358 pages

Prix: 20 €

Kindle: 11 €

Date de publication : 2020

Capture d'Ă©cran 2023-08-26 061551.png

Le blues du pêcheur

Roman d'Alan Alfredo Geday
Extrai
t (Partie II)

« Maman,

Comme tu vois, je ne t’ai pas oubliée. Quatre mois déjà que je suis à Marseille. Le temps est passé vite, j’ai eu tant à faire, j’ai eu tant à apprendre et à découvrir. Marseille est grande. Elle m’a étourdi d’abord, puis elle m’a enchanté. Je m’y sens libre. L’anonymat a quelque chose d’exaltant. Livourne est un bourg comparé à Marseille. Je crois qu’il me serait impossible d’y vivre maintenant, je m’y sentirais enchaîné à une vie trop étroite. Ici, on peut trouver du travail, on peut tenter sa chance. Il y a beaucoup d’Italiens à Marseille. Je ne suis pas trop dépaysé. Nous, les Italiens, on vit en communauté, on se serre les coudes, tous confinés dans le quartier de la Belle de Mai. Les Français nous appellent les babi. On voit souvent des affiches dans la rue : « Immigrés italiens dehors, travailleurs français ! » Quelques escrocs m’ont même proposé une fausse carte d’identité si je soutenais le parti socialiste. Mais avec mon accent à couper au couteau et mon peu de vocabulaire, ce n’est pas demain la veille qu’on cessera de m’appeler macaroni. Ces sales gens ne doivent pas connaître notre cuisine pour en faire une insulte ! Ton cacciucco me manque, nos longues discussions aussi. »

Geday_PB.jpg

Commander

Paperback:  276 pages

Price:  15,50 €

Kindle: 9,50 €

Date de publication : 2019

bottom of page

top of page

historical fiction

My grandfather 

Novel by Alan Alfredo Geday
Extract (Part I)

In the late afternoon along the broad sidewalks of Bensonhurst, the sweet-tart smell of marinara sauce filled the air. The Italian delis never ran out of it, and their store windows looked like a Warhol tableau, piled high with neat, immutable rows of canned tomatoes. The sauce was Bensonhurst’s bestseller, just good tomatoes with a little olive oil and a few garlic cloves, but the neighborhood didn’t just belong to the Sicilians or even the Neapolitans anymore; since the war ended, immigrants had been coming in from all over the Boot. The tri-color flag hung from nearly every building, drawing the borders of Brooklyn’s Little Italy. The neighborhood was awash with color, from giant billboards to posters for the latest blockbuster motion pictures. The record shops were always busy, and on the sidewalks market stalls were scattered in every direction. Café terraces overflowed with men busy at games of scopa, while the store windows were filled with toys and chewing-gum dispensers to pull in kids on their way home from school. Cars hummed along the roads, with yellow taxis honking and motorcycles popping, and the subway sailing high and loud above the packed streets.It was rush hour, and the residents of Bensonhurst were scurrying around one another in search of their groceries; a bunch of basil leaves here, a handful of dried eggplant there. It was almost dinner time, but lots of folks still sat chatting on the front steps of their brownstones. Others were calling into the Jewish delis for a chocolate krantz cake, a stuffed donut or a braided challah. Even in Italian New York, little pockets of the Jewish diaspora had always thrived.

My grandfather novel

Order online

Paperback: 270 pages

Price: 15.50 $

Kindle: 9.50 $

Publication date: 2023

Capture d'écran 2023-08-26 061241.png

There once was Wanda

Novel by Alan Alfredo Geday
Extract (Part I)

Wanda looked at her engagement ring, observing the glittering reflection of its diamond in the train window. It was spectacular, and the most precious thing in the world to her after Boris. She had done everything in her power to save it from the Bolsheviks. The day they came to pillage the apartment in Saint-Petersburg, she’d slipped Igor’s ring inside her nightdress. That way, she could at least be certain the looters would not take it unless they took her as well. She was pensive. This train was her destiny. She felt like she had already witnessed this moment, as if in some remote dream that was now coming to life. The landscape that rolled past was known to her. She knew and understood the language of the French passengers, for she had learned it in Lausanne.  The comfort she hoped to find in France was something she’d already felt, as if all this had been written out for her. Was this the start of a new life?

There once was wanda

Order online

Paperback:  148 pages

Price:  12.50 $

Kindle: 7 $

Publication date: 2022

Capture d'écran 2023-08-26 060407.png

The legend of Larry Hoover 

Novel by Alan Alfredo Geday
Extract (Part III)

Beneath the Brooklyn Bridge was a place of forbidden things where they came to talk about the myth of democracy. It was a place for plotting, threats, hopes, and secrets. A place for people with nothing, but who wanted to change the course of things. People who were angry and on the brink. Here they met in secret, sometimes having to flee when they heard police sirens approach. The cops made their rounds and sometimes carried off these enemies of the social order, namely black people who had stayed outside the ghetto too late in the day to stand around a burning barrel. Nobody knew what really went on under the Brooklyn Bridge; everyone had heard legends and rumors, but only the East River knew the truth of who had pushed who into the river, and who had betrayed his fellow under that bridge, and who had taken their own life, and who had pulled the trigger or set fire to the car. Sleeping sound beneath the surface of the water were cars from the days of prohibition, the depression, and the war; New York’s gangs and Mafiosos had filled up the East River with the blood of their enemies and traitors to their cause. Between the river and the rough neighborhoods of Brooklyn, there was inspiration everywhere amidst the stories of troubled souls whispered by the trickling water.

Larry Hoover

Order online

Paperback:  362 pages

Price:  20 $

Kindle: 11 $

Publication date: 2022

Capture d'écran 2023-08-26 061551.png

The fisherboy's blues 

Novel by Alan Alfredo Geday
Extract (Part II)

“Dear Mama,

As you can see, I haven’t forgotten you. I’ve been in Marseille for four months now; the time has flown by. I’ve had so much to do, and learn, and explore. It’s a huge city. I found it overwhelming at first, but there’s a magic about it as well. I feel so free here; not knowing anyone is a wonderful feeling. Livorno is just a village compared to Marseille. I think it would be impossible for me to live there again, I’d feel like I was shut up in a cell. There’s work to be had here; you can try to make something of yourself. There are lots of Italians in Marseille, so it hasn’t been too hard to fit in. We all live as a community in the Belle de Mai neighbourhood. The French call us the ‘babi’. You often see posters up in the street saying: “Italians out – French jobs for French people!” A few scammers have even offered me a false ID card if I vote for the socialist party. But with my accent and my limited vocabulary, it will be a while before they stop calling me a macaroni. I guess those idiots haven’t tried our food if they think it’s an insult to call me that! I miss your cacciucco and our long talks.”

The fisherboy's Blues

Order online

Paperback:  274 pages

Price:  15.50 $

Kindle: 9.50 $

Publication date: 2021

bottom of page